I see some color on my tomato plants – first of the season – WOOT WOOT

Tomato Plant

Tomato Plant

Early this afternoon I went out to check on my tomato plants and wouldn’t ya know – I see some orange and red !!! First sign of color on my tomato plants this year.

Now that I have 2 rabbits, I’ve been using their droppings for fertilizer along with a tea/coffee soup mix from once used morning tea bag and coffee grounds. I cannot believe how tall my tomato plants are getting. Some are easy 9 feet tall so far and I can’t even get the whole plant in a picture. Below is a picture of a some of the plants. I’ll show the stragglers in another post.

The 14 tomato plants I do have come up every year, I never have to buy tomato plants, unless, I want a different variety of course.

About 8 years ago I bought 3 Ponderosa Beefmasters and 2 Tommy Toes. They grew to have a few nice tomatoes the first year .. I believe I canned 3 jars of stewed tomatoes that year and plenty of table tomatoes. I planted them 2 feet apart in a row.

Tomato Plant

Tomato Plant

The following year, those same plants came up again, along with a few straggler plants, growing taller with more harvest. 8 years later I have 14 tomato plants and about a dozen straggler plants. The straggler plants are always cherry tomatoes. The straggler plants die every year but they give me heaps and heaps of cherry tomatoes and last well into late Fall. My permanent resident tomatoes don’t die off till the first frost.
The interesting thing about these 14 tomato plants is they give me both large – medium – small and cherry tomatoes on the same plant. There is usually a bunch of 9-12 tomatoes and one or two Beefmaster type and the rest get smaller with the smallest (not even really small) being the cherry tomato. The cherry tomatoes always show color and get harvested first. I didn’t think it to be possible. But, I love my tomato plants. Ha Ha

 

Leave a Reply

