My response from Senator Pat Toomey on the Uniform Protection and Safety Act S.707

Dear Ms. Kirst,

Thank you for contacting me about the Puppy Uniform Protection and Safety Act (S. 707). I appreciate hearing from you.

As you may know, Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL) introduced S. 707 on March 31, 2011. Among its provisions, S. 707 would allow the United States Department of Agriculture to regulate any dog breeder that sells more than 50 dogs as pets in any one-year period.

Currently, this bill is pending before the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry, of which I am not a member. Please be assured that I will keep your thoughts in mind should this legislation come before me in the full senate.

Thank you again for your correspondence. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Signature

Pat Toomey
U.S. Senator, Pennsylvania

Leave a Reply

