Morning Glory Flower Vine

Pink Morning Glory Flower Vine

Pink Morning Glory Flower Vine

The Morning Glory Flower Vine is amazing I think. I bought a packet of 20 mixed seeds off a lady in Malaysia on Ebay in 2002. Well, 10 years later they are everywhere in my yard. This was the first year I decided to specifically even try to control my Morning Glories.

I originally bought them for a fence cover so I could have a blanket of pretty greens and flowers covering my fence line that encloses the yard. By the 3 year my entire fence line was covered with these beauties. White, dark blue, light blue, all shades of purple, all shades of pink and reds, some get so dark a color purple they look black in the shade, different sizes of flowers and leaves .. amazing to say the least. I simply love them.

Blue Morning Glory Flower Vine

Blue Morning Glory Flower Vine

I decided after the 3rd year of Morning Glories I would collect the seeds and sell a packet of 50+ for a dollar. (lol) Believe it or not, I had alot of buyers for these very hardy growers. I sent my seeds to different countries even. I eventually had alot going on in my political activism since 2006 and haven’t sold but a dozen since.  Although I’m sure there’s alot of my seeds as foundation stock for some of the sellers on Ebay now. When I bought from the Malaysia lady in 2002 there was maybe a 4-5 Morning Glory seed sellers in the USA and at the time the Malaysia lady had the best looking flowers and colors. Now there is like 15-20 different sellers in the USA alone.

Anyhows, I want to tell you about my Morning Glory Flower Vines .. I love them !! They grow extremely fast once germinated, they love water – the more you water them the faster they grow.  I usually water every night depending on the weather. If it’s supposed to rain I don’t – is about the way it goes around here.

They crawl, twine, cover anything you want them too and even what you don’t. (lol) I like to train mine to certain areas so they don’t strangle my other many plants. Believe it, they will strangle anything in their path. I like this in certain areas (like behind the shed) because when spring weeds take off – by the time they are approx 6 inches tall the Morning Glory Vine has germinated and will soon strangle those weeds into oblivion. Never even giving the weeds a chance to reseed for next year.

Morning Glory Vine

Morning Glory Vine

On the flip side, Morning Glory Vines will too – strangle your favorite plants also. You need to control the Morning Glory Vine when they are young or that’s all you will ever have growing in your yard. (lol) I’ve found seeds in the strangest places too. So somehow when they reseed – they skedaddle to some crazy places to germinate the following year. I have a Corkscrew Willow Tree I planted 8 years ago and where the large branches connect to the trunk – (yep you guessed it) there are Morning Glory Vines growing. Looks pretty I think, but they do attempt to strangle my Corkscrew Willow Tree from the area of germination on up the tree. When I do see them growing in the tree, I get the ladder out and pull them back to a pile where the branches meet the trunk – just intertwine them so they strangle themselves – they stay compact and the flowers form more of a bunch than a long straggly vine with flowers here and there.

Dark Pink Morning Glory Flower Vine

Dark Pink Morning Glory Flower Vine

Morning Glory Vines are related to the Sweet Potato Vine, so they don’t necessarily have to grow upward. They will grow on the ground and twine in a circle and form their own upward support. I have a large area outback where they do just that. By early fall they are 5 foot tall from the ground with no supports whatsoever.

I can’t say enough about them, I love Morning Glories but they are after years of reseeding high maintenance in regards to controlling their population.

Here’s one of my 2008 Ron Paul signs still at the back of the garden surrounded by the Morning Glory Vines. (lol)

Ron Paul & Morning Glory Vine

Ron Paul & Morning Glory Vine

 

Leave a Reply

