My response from Pat Toomey about ObamaCare

July 12, 2012
Dear Ms. Kirst,

Thank you for contacting my office about the Supreme Court’s ruling on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148). I appreciate hearing from you.

On June 28, 2012, the Supreme Court ruled to uphold a majority of the President’s health care plan in a 5-4 decision. Like you, I am extremely disappointed by this jarring blow to our 200-year-old tradition of constitutionally limited government and personal liberty. However, the Supreme Court’s decision does not change the fact that this law is terrible policy that will increase the cost of health care and cost our country jobs.

The President’s health care plan, which was enacted last Congress, is fundamentally wrong in its approach to improving our nation’s health care system. This bill imposes onerous new mandates and regulations that will have numerous unintended consequences. It’s bad for patients, it’s bad for doctors, and it’s bad for our economy. Additionally, it threatens to put serious strains on our nation’s long term fiscal outlook.

It is for these reasons that I support a full repeal of the President’s health care plan. In fact, I am an original co-sponsor of S. 192, entitled the Repealing the Job-Killing Health Care Law Act, which was introduced by Senator Jim DeMint (R-SC) on January 26, 2011. On February 2, 2011, I also voted in support of an amendment offered by Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) that would have repealed the President’s health care plan. As I continue working on this important issue, please be assured that I value your input and remain committed to working with my colleagues to fully repeal the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

I appreciate your concerns about health care. Please do not hesitate to contact my office in the future.

Leave a Reply

